These Old Buildings | 3536 Brehms Ln.

These Old Buildings | 3536 Brehms Ln.

A Series of Stories About the School Buildings in Which We Live, Work, and Play


2800 Brendan Ave.

5504 York Rd.

Belair, or “Belle Aire” as it was known back in 1735, has a rich history in our city. The community originated through a land grant which was issued to Daniel Scott in 1731 and was home to a mere 200 residents around the mid 1800s. Now, with a bolstering population of over 30,000 in the combined Belair-Edison community, it is home to Brehms Lane Public Charter School. Before it became a school for our children, Brehms Lane was in a large area owned by three of the most prominent men at the time in Baltimore: George Brehm, George Lamley, and George Erdman. Not surprisingly, the area became known as Georgetown, with George Brehm owning some 624 acres. Brehm also owned many breweries in the area and underground tunnels have been found where the brewery stored its ales. 

The community started to grow in the 1920s and '30s and by the 1940s, when the neighborhood Belair-Edison was officially established, there were more than 1,700 dwellings in the area. This was around the same time that enrollment at The Shrine of the Little Flower (now Afya Public Charter School) began to boom. In 1936, Brehms Lane Elementary School opened its doors. In 1992, Brehms Lane underwent renovations, allowing for new opportunities for students. In 2015 (2016?), Afya Baltimore Inc. (ABI) converted Brehms Lane to a neighborhood public charter school and additional renovations have occured, including the construction of new bathrooms, re-painting, landscaping and newly built play area, and a host of other work to enhance the learning experience for students and families alike. 

Main Calendar


ABI Governing Board Meeting

6:00 PM - 7:30 PM

This site provides information using PDF, visit this link to download the Adobe Acrobat Reader DC software.